Pleeblandia

Thoughts from the front lines

Curiosity

1 Comment

As I flipped the first pages of the Maddadam, I was very interested on the Crakers’ behaviour. Based on the first two books, the Crakers are the perfect creatures for the next generations. Therefore, everything about them is considered perfect and they possess the characteristics that will supposedly lead to better generations. As I read how the author described the Crakers in the first few pages, I learnt that they were actually very curious creatures. Since the second book, they seemed curious but I wasn’t certain until I started reading the Maddadam which confirmed my hypothesis. In fact, the Crakers asks about everything and follow whoever they want out of curiosity. For example, in the Cobb House, when Croze went to bed, he was followed by some of the Crakers because they were curious. To me, it feels like their ways of acting is purely from curiosity as they have just arrived in their world.

With that being said, since Crake said the Paradice Project was to produce perfect humans. I was wondering if curiosity is considered perfect. After reading a few articles, I found an interesting quote stating:

“Curiosity is a double-edged sword with many benefits, but also a dark side.” (Bergland, C., 2016)

Image result for double edged sword meaning

Personally, I agree with this claim because in general; we think it is a good thing to be curious since all babies need that characteristics to develop practical reasoning in the future. But, I also think that curiosity also has a bad side just like a double-edged sword. For example, I am sure everyone can relate that there was one time in your life that you had wished you didn’t heard something. This is just a small example but it can also be very dangerous. For example, if you overheard that your friend is a murderer and you start acting scared with that person. Afterwards, when that friend learns that you know his true identity because of you overhearing his true identity from someone else, he will eventually get rid of you right? On the other hand, if you acted normal and assumed him as a regular friend, everything could have been prevented as the murderer have no reason to kill you.

Finally, I think curiosity is essential in life but too much curiosity? I don’t think so.

Works Cited

Bergland, C., 2016. Curiosity, the Good, the Bad, and the Double-Edged Sword, Psychology Today.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-athletes-way/201608/curiosity-the-good-the-bad-and-the-double-edged-sword Accesed 4 April 2017

One thought on “Curiosity

  1. I found your post very interesting to read since I am a pretty curious person myself. I do agree with the fact that the Crakers tend to ask a lot of questions out of curiosity. But we should also keep in mind that they really do not have any other option but to be curious. As we know, they came into the world not knowing much at all so it only makes sense for them to want to learn things and the only way for them to do this is by asking those around them. Now as far as curiosity in itself goes, I would agree that too much curiosity could also hurt. Curiosity is of course good since that is how we tend to find new interests and learn new things, but too much of anything is never good. Like you said, there might be instances in life where we are so curious about something but end up finding out something we wish we hadn’t. I would like to add that it is also possible to be curious about something already knowing that what you will find out won’t necessarily please you. Sometimes curiosity just gets the best of us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

